If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.
Summer 2022
  • Work Permits During the School Year

    Salinas Union High School District (SUHSD)  will start to issue work permits to students that have been offered employment. SUHSD will continue to enforce local requirements to issue work permits. 

    The career technician from your school is your main contact to request the work permit. The career technician’s contact information is as follows:

    Alisal High School: Denise Hernandez  (denise.hernandez@salinasuhsd.org)  (831) 796-7600 ext 2027

    Everett  Alvarez High School: Laura Ruano (laura.ruano@salinasuhsd.org)  (831) 796-7800 ext 2346

    Salinas High School: Amanda Ojeda (amanda.ojeda@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7400 ext 2947

    North Salinas High School: Adriana Anaya-Padilla (adriana.padilla@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7500 ext.2623

    Rancho San Juan High School: Mariana Becerra Mata (mariana.becerramata@salinasuhsd.org)(831) 273-7700 ext.3490

    Mount Toro High School & El Puente School. Reyna Vargas  (reyna.vargas@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7700 ext. 1379 or (831) 796-7770 ext. 1333

     

    How long is my work permit valid for? 

    The work permit that you will be receiving is valid for the rest of the  school year, summer time and expires 10 days after the next school year starts. If the applicant does not meet the minimum requirements to issue a work permit, the Work Experience Coordinator or Career Counselor will contact you to set up a time to discuss your situation.

    After I receive my work permit, who is in charge of monitoring work permit minimum requirements?

    The Work Experience Coordinator (WEC) from your high school will be reaching out to set up an appointment to meet the student and the family. The WEC will be responsible for monitoring the academic progress and safety of the students at the workplace.  The Work Experience Coordinator will be monitoring the GPA and attendance every quarter. In the event that a student does not meet eligibility requirements, the WEC will set up a parent meeting and the work permit may be cancelled until the student goes back on track with GPA and attendance requirements.

    The Work Experience Coordinators information is as follows: 

    Alisal High School: Dr. Julissa Mendoza (julissa.mendoza@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7600 ext.2183

    Everett  Alvarez High School: Evan Robinson (evan.robinson@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7600 ext. 2484

    Salinas High School:  Martha Arevalo (marta.arevalo@salinasuhsd.org)  (831) 796-7400 ext. 3073

    North Salinas High School: Blanca Benitez (blanca.benitez@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7500 ext. 2749

    Rancho San Juan High School: Theresa Wren (theresa.wren@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 273-7700 ext. 3438

    Mount Toro High School & El Puente School. Reyna Vargas  (reyna.vargas@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7700 ext. 1379 or (831) 796-7770 ext. 1333