Welcome to WMS Counseling

  • img

     

    When would a student make an appointment to see a counselor?

    Students are able to come into the counseling office on their own before school, during lunch, and after school. Students may fill out a “Request to See My Counselor” form, and their counselor will meet with them as soon as possible.

    A student would make an appointment to see a counselor if they are experiencing any of the following issues:

    1.) Academic concerns (grades, requests for support programs/classes, preparation for the future)

    2.) Behavior concerns (citizenship, bullying, harassment)

    3.) Emotional support (feelings, family life, self-esteem)

    4.) Social issues (relationships with others)

    5.) Special programs (e.g. GATE, AVID, Migrant)

     

    Our Grading Calendar

    Students receive 4 official grades total per school year. 1st and 2nd quarter grades average out to determine 1st semester grades, and 3rd and 4th quarter grades average out to determine 2nd semester grades. Semester grades remain on the student's permanent file. 

    Students also receive 4 progress report grades, which are available mid-way through each quarter. 

    Each student will receive an academic grade (A, B, C, D, or F) and a citizenship grade (O, S, or U) for each class.

    WMS Grading Calendar 2017-2018

     

    WMS Grading Calendar 2018-2019

     

    OTHER RESOURCES

    Community Resource Guide

    Homework Request Policy (Poliza de Pedir Tarea)

    Internet Safety Tips

    Promotion Eligibility Requirements

    WMS Grading Calendar 2018-2019

    WMS Weekly Progress Report

    WMS Weekly Progress Report (español)

     

     

Contacts

  • To speak to a counselor, please contact:

    • Victoria Verduzco
    • Counselor's Secretary
    • 831-796-7100 ext. 8611
    • victoria.verduzco@salinasuhsd.org

     Victoria Verduzco

    Counselors:

    • Lauren Rubin
    • CASELOAD: 8th Grade GATE, A-L
    • lauren.rubin@salinasuhsd.org

    Lauren Rubin

    • Lorena Resendiz
    • CASELOAD: M-Ramirez
    • lorena.resendiz@salinasuhsd.org

     img

    • Sherry Kefalas
    • CASELOAD: SPED, 7th Grade GATE, Ramon-Z
    • sherry.kefalas@salinasuhsd.org

    Sherry Kefalas

    • Nancy Oliver
    • CASELOAD: AVID & English Learners (EL), 2017-18 RFEPs
    • nancy.oliver@salinasuhsd.org

    Nancy Oliver

    Other Counseling Support:

    • Adrian Murillo
    • Intervention Specialist
    • adrian.murillo@salinasuhsd.org

    Adrian Murillo

    • Maria Toledo
    • Migrant Counselor
    • maria.toledo@salinasuhsd.org