• Work Permits School Year 20-21 High Restrictions

    Salinas Union High School District (SUHSD)  will start to issue work permits to students that have been offered employment for the 20-21 school year on August 11, 2020. SUHSD will continue to enforce local requirements to issue work permits based on 19-20 third quarter results. The requirements are: a minimum 2.0 GPA, 85% attendance and satisfactory citizenship. 

    How do I apply for a work permit? 

    The process to obtain a work permit during school closures is as follows:

    1. Download the Work Permit Application form (B1-1)  or En Espanol (B1-1)  or there are hard copies located in a box outside the main entrance of Mission Trails ROP, 867 E. Laurel Dr. Salinas, CA 93905. The site is open from M-F from 7:30 am - 4:30 pm.
    1. Complete the following sections at home:
    2.     Complete “Minor’s Information Section”.
    3.     Complete “School Information Section”
    4.     Your employer will complete and sign the section “To be filled in and signed by the employer”.
    5.   Parent/Guardian completes and signs the section “To be filled in and signed by parent or legal  guardian”
    1. Proof of age is needed to verify if you qualify for a work permit and verify how many hours per week you can work.  Photos of any two of the following documents are needed: 
    •   Transcript for the school showing your name and date of birth or
    •   CA ID or CA Driver’s license or
    •   A Medical Card with your name and  your Date of Birth or
    •   US Passport or
    •   Birth Certificate.
    1. Once your Work Permit Application is filled out please take a picture of the Work Permit Application Form ( B1-1) making sure that all signatures are legible, take pictures of the two forms of ID that you have and send the three pictures  to the Career Technicians’ email where the applicant attends school.  Please include in your email the best phone number to contact you and the mailing address to receive your work permit. 

    The career technician from your school is your main contact to request the work permit. The career technician’s contact information is as follows:

    Alisal High School: Denise Hernandez  (denise.hernandez@salinasuhsd.org)  (831) 796-7600 ext 2027

    Everett  Alvarez High School: Laura Ruano (laura.ruano@salinasuhsd.org)  (831) 796-7800 ext 2346

    Salinas High School: Amanda Ojeda (amanda.ojeda@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7400 ext 2947

    North Salinas High School: Adriana Anaya-Padilla (adriana.padilla@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7500 ext.2623

    Rancho San Juan High School: Adriana Rodriguez (adriana.rodriguez@salinasuhsd.org ) (831) 273-7700 ext.3490

    El Puente School and Mount Toro High School. April Davis  (april.davis@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 753-4209 ext.1212

    How do I receive my work permit? 

    1. Once application and documentation is received, the career technician of your school will process your permit within 24 hours. The work permit and a  Work Experience Coordinator letter of introduction will be mailed to the address provided. The career technician will call to let you know when the work permit was mailed out.  The Salinas post office has a 24-48 hours turnaround time in letters within the city. 
    2. After you receive your work permit, the applicant should sign the copy, take a picture and email it to the career technician. 

    How long is my work permit valid for? 

    The work permit that you will be receiving is valid for the rest of the 2020-2021 school year, summer time and expires 10 days after the 2021-2022 school year starts. If the applicant does not meet the minimum requirements to issue a work permit, the Work Experience Coordinator or Career Counselor will contact you to set up a time to discuss your case.

    After I receive my work permit, who is in charge of monitoring work permit minimum requirements?

    The Work Experience Coordinator (WEC) from your high school will be reaching out to set up an appointment to meet the student and the family. The WEC will be responsible for monitoring the academic progress and safety of the students at the workplace.  The Work Experience Coordinator will be monitoring the GPA and attendance every quarter. In the event that a student does not meet eligibility requirements, the WEC will set up a parent meeting and the work permit may be cancelled until the student goes back on track with GPA and attendance requirements.

    The Work Experience Coordinators information is as follows: 

    Alisal High School: Dr. Julissa Mendoza (julissa.mendoza@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7600 ext.2183

    Everett  Alvarez High School: Evan Robinson (evan.robinson@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7600 ext. 2484

    Salinas High School:  Lorena Mendoza (lorena.mendoza@salinasuhsd.org)  (831) 796-7400 ext. 3073

    North Salinas High School: Blanca Benitez (blanca.benitez@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 796-7500 ext. 2749

    Rancho San Juan High School: Sylvia Miranda (sylvia.miranda@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 273-7700 ext. 3438

    El Puente School and Mount Toro High School. April Davis  (april.davis@salinasuhsd.org) (831) 753-4209 ext.1212

    Este ciclo escolar, los estudiantes de trabajo serán invitados a certificarse en OSHA 10 Seguridad en el empleo  o en el manejo de alimentos dependiendo de la industria en la que se labora. 

     Download this page HERE

    Download Work Permit Application B1-1  HERE 

    Para instrucciones en Espanol presione AQUI

    Forma de Permiso B1-1 En Espanol presione AQUI